western-view

“Spoiled Rotten”
Reviewed February 2015

Visited VSL in January and am already trying to think of a way to return. If you want something away from the large resorts and chains, this is the place. You only have to mention what you would like and it seems to appear like magic.   Jacquie and her friendly staff pamper you from start to finish. The meals are the freshest local ingredients cooked with Jacquie’s special flair and Josephine, her second, does not let the side down. Do yourself a favour and request or try the conch chowder. WOW!! Other examples, beef shank, spicy prawns and so it goes – do try the local breakfast selection of Salt-fish Salad with Bakes – it took me till the last day to try this as I was put off by Salt-fish for breakfast – but I was quite wrong. The way it is prepared is amazing – no fishy taste and served with onion, sweet pepper, okra etc. and then you fill light fluffy almost croissant like “bakes”. Yum.  Our room was lovely and the Villas have a wonderful local feel. Our meals were served on a deck that looked out over the ocean with cruise ships coming and going.  It was a very relaxing and wonderful holiday even if I did have to diet when I arrived home. Stayed January 2015, travelled as a couple

SandraM454Melbourne,
Melbourne


“The best R & R”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

After lots of research and knowing the island a little, we chose Jackie’s hotel based on its location and the reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel was quiet with a lovely location overlooking Dickenson Bay. The staff were fantastic, very attentive without being intrusive. Nothing was too much trouble, Jackie even brought us tea very early every morning and Josephine cooked the fish we caught which was delicious. Altogether, a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which had shade outside until about 2pm. Perfect for our fair skins. Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple

Catherine and Stuart
Salisbury, United Kingdom


“Paradise”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent a wonderful 8 nights and ate in every evening – so delicious, healthy and varied was the food. We were even asked some nights what we might want to eat as Jackie rattled off a list of goodies. We stayed in villa 10 – we think- which was vast. The bed was enormous & comfortable & everything was impeccably clean. There is a lovely view of the ocean from the bedroom & the shower. The views from the dining terrace are absolutely wonderful – the perfect place for sun-downers. The beach is a 5-10 minute stroll away. Most days we had the pool to ourselves with the staff popping down to check if we needed a drink. All of the staff & Jackie are charming & can’t do enough for you including things well outside their remit – a drive to the pharmacy, the bank, to drop you off/collect you for any excursions you book. The location is also lovely & quiet. Jackie & her team offer you a warm & homely welcome. I would echo a previous review – the only downside to staying here is that the holiday ends & you have to go home.

Room Tip: Villa 10 has it’s own terrace, a sitting room, dining room, kitchen, laundry, huge bedroom &… Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple

Cabra
London


“I concur!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Gracious Indeed! Jackie and her staff are all about customer service. We stayed for 5 nights. The resort is well-kept and less than a 10 min walk from a public beach. Jackie’s food is much better than I’ve had at other resorts in the Caribbean and she is truly interested in your palate. Although driving in Antigua is challenging, it is great to get to see the island. The locals are extremely friendly and help with directions. Jackie can arrange for a car. It is worth it, just have some patience. Don’t think twice about staying here – you will not be disappointed.  Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple

takemeaway2406
Saint Louis, Missouri